Upgraded Dashboards and Legacy Dashboards

This article applies to the following Customer Insights roles: Developer

Customer Insights features two kinds of Dashboards: legacy Dashboards and upgraded Dashboards. As the name implies, legacy Dashboards are the Dashboards that have been used since Customer Insights made its debut in 2017. For example, here’s a look at a legacy Dashboard named New Dashboard:

And here’s what that same Dashboard looks like when in “upgrade” mode:

As you can see, the upgraded Dashboard is arguably less-cluttered and easier to read. This new look and feel also extends to Dashboard features. For example, here’s how a user changes a filter attached to a legacy Dashboard:

And here’s what that same filter looks like on an upgraded Dashboard:

Again, less-cluttered, and a little easier to use.

That’s all well and good, but what does it mean to Customer Insights users? To answer that question, let’s start with two key points:

  • If you’re a long-time user of Customer Insights you don’t have to worry about your existing Dashboards: those Dashboards (i.e., legacy Dashboards) will continue to look, and continue to operate, the same way they always have. You don’t need to make any changes to your Dashboards in order for them to continue functioning.

  • From now on, any new Dashboards you create (regardless of whether you’re a looking time user of Customer Insights or are new to the application) will use the new upgrade mode. Suppose you have 20 legacy Dashboards and you now create a new Dashboard. In that case you’ll still have 20 legacy Dashboards; in addition, you’ll have your one new upgraded Dashboard.

But here’s the cool thing. Although we talk about different Dashboard types, what we should really be talking about is different display types. As it turns out, you can toggle a dashboard between legacy mode and upgrade mode any time you want. Do you have a legacy Dashboard that you think might look better as an upgraded Dashboard? Fine; assuming that you have the proper permissions, just click the Options icon and select Upgrade Dashboard:

Just like that, you’ll be looking at an upgraded version of the Dashboard. Furthermore, this upgrade will be “sticky:” the next time you open the Dashboard, it will open in upgrade mode.

But “sticky” doesn’t mean permanent. Suppose that, for whatever reason, you prefer to view the Dashboard in legacy mode after all. No problem; click the Options icon and then click Revert to legacy dashboard:

And now you’re right back to where you started: viewing the Dashboard in legacy mode. You can toggle between modes as often as you like. (And yes, you can do this even with brand-new Dashboards that were never in legacy mode.) One advantage to this? If you’re used to creating/editing Dashboards in legacy mode, then use that mode to create or edit Dashboards. After the Dashboard is ready to go, you can switch to upgrade mode any time you want to view the Dashboard.