The traditionalAuthenticateMerge screen (Hosted Login v1)

Looking for the Hosted Login v2 version of this screen? Then click here.

The traditionalAuthenticateMerge screen is the last step in the merge accounts workflow. This screen appears if:

  1. A user initially created their account by using traditional registration (that is, by supplying an email address and password).
  2. Sometime after creating that account, the user signs in by using a social login provider (e.g., Facebook) that has the same email address used to create their initial account (step 1).
  3. The mergeAccounts screen appears and the user clicks Continue to email.
     
  4. The traditionalAuthenticateMerge screen appears and the user is asked to enter his or her Identity Cloud email address and password. After doing so, the user will  be able to sign-in using either their Identity Cloud account or their Twitter account.

But what if the user clicks Cancel Request and cancels his or her login? In that case, the Facebook account is not merged with the user’s Identity Cloud account, and the user is only able to sign in by using an email address and password.

Note that you can only merge accounts if the social login provider returns a verified email address as part of its API response.


Merge Accounts Screen Flow

The following graphic shows how the traditionalAuthenticateMerge screen fits into the Merge Accounts flow.


Verify Your Existing Account Screen: Technical Documentation