The Merge Social Account Screen (mergeAccounts)

The mergeAccounts screen appears if:

  1. A user initially created their account by using traditional registration (that is, by supplying an email address and password).

  1. Sometime after creating that account, the user signs in by using a social login provider that has the same email address used to create the initial account.

In other words, Karim creates a new account by using the email address karim.nafir@mail.com. A few days later, Karim logs on by using his Facebook account. When he does this, the Identity Cloud recognizes that the Facebook account uses the email address (karim.nafir@mail.com), and displays the mergeAccounts screen. Karim then has two choices:

  • He can click Continue to email and, on the traditionalAuthenticateMerge screen, enter his Identity Cloud email address and password. After doing so, he will  be able to sign-in using either his Identity Cloud account or his Facebook account.
     
  • He can click Cancel Request and cancel his login. When he does that, however, his Facebook account will not be merged with his Identity Cloud, and he will only be able to sign in by using his email address and password.
     


Merge Accounts Screen Flow

The following graphic shows how the mergeAccounts screen fits into the Merge Accounts flow.


Merge Accounts Screen: Technical Documentation