Personal Folder

This article applies to the following Customer Insights roles: Viewer Developer

Your Personal Folder is your own individual folder within Customer Insights: this is the place where, as a general rule, Dashboards or Looks that you create are stored. (Users will invariably create Dashboards or Looks in their personal folder: only Administrations can create Dashboards or Looks in the Shared folder.)

We should probably note that this folder isn’t actually called “Personal Folder.” Instead, the name is based on your user account first name and the word “folder.”. For example, a user named Greg Stemp will have a Personal Folder named, well, Greg Stemp’s folder:

Perhaps best of all, your personal folder can truly be personal: you have the ability to determine whether or not other users can access the folder, and what type of access they have. (Although this does not apply to administrators: administrators always have full access to all folder.) By default, only you (and Customer Insights administrators) have access to your personal folder. However, you can give other users access to the space by completing the following procedure:

  1. From your personal folder, click the Settings icon and then click Manage Access.
  2. In the Manage Access dialog box, click Add group or user, and then click the name of the group or the individual user that you want to give access to:

  1. If you want to give the user or group View permissions (i.e., read-only permissions), simply click Add to add the user or group to the permissions list.
  2. If you want to give the user or group the Manage Access, Edit permissions (i.e., read/write permissions), click View, click Manage Access, Edit, and then click Add:

  1. Repeat the process as needed. When you have added all the users and groups that you want to give access to, click Save.

When you give a user access to your personal foider, that space appears when he or she clicks on the People folder:

If you later decide to revoke access, then complete this procedure:

  1. From your personal folder, click the Settings icon and then click Manage Access. In the Manage Access dialog box, click the Remove button (the X) next to the name of the user or group whose access is being revoked:

  2. Repeat the process as needed. When you have finished removing users and groups, click Save.

After access has been revoked, those users or groups will no longer see your personal folder in the People folder: