Deleting a Screen

REST API Equivalent. You can use the /config/{app}/flows/{flow}/screens/{screen} endpoint and the DELETE method to delete a screen.


Similar to deleting a form, deleting a screen can have unexpected consequences. For example, suppose you delete the forgotPassword screen, but don’t change any of the HTML markup or any of the other flow elements that  refer to that screen. Here’s what JavaScript SDK users will see if they click the Forgot Password? link on your sign-in screen:

Believe it or not, there’s actually a screen here: if you squint your eyes and look closely enough you’ll see a Close button in the upper right-hand corner. (Incidentally, this button actually works: click it and the “screen” will disappear.) Why did we get a blank screen when we asked for the forgotPassword screen? You got it: we asked the Identity Cloud to display the forgotPassword screen, but that screen doesn’t exist. Under those circumstances, the Identity Cloud does the best it can to display something onscreen.

In other words, if you’re going to delete one of the predefined screens you’ll also need to delete all other references to that screen, especially all references in your HTML markup. Before you start deleting screens, check with your Identity Cloud representative.

If you decide that you do need to delete a screen, just click the trashcan icon associated with that screen:

After that, click Delete in the confirmation dialog, and your screen will be removed from the flow:

If you delete a screen and then later regret that decision you can simply create a new screen that uses the same name as the deleted screen and your problems (or at least your Identity Cloud screen problems) should be solved. Alternatively, you can restore a version of the flow that includes the deleted screen.