Deleting a Field

REST API Equivalent. You can use the /config/{app}/flows/{flow}/fields endpoint and the DELETE method to remove a field from a flow.


Fields can be deleted from a flow at any time; all you have to do is click the trashcan icon located next to the field you want to get rid of:

After you click the trashcan, you’ll see the following dialog box:

To delete the field, click, well, Delete

So is that it, is that all it takes to delete a field? Yes. However, there are a few things you should keep in mind when it comes to deleting fields:

  • Deleting a field also removes that field from any forms that reference it. That’s the good news: you won’t end up with forms that refer to fields that no longer exist. The bad news? That could also, at least in theory, leave you with a form that doesn’t have any fields. For example, the forgotPassword form only uses a single field: signInEmalAddress. If you delete signInEmailAddress then the forgotPassword form won’t have any fields. The form will still render but, without a place to enter the email address, that form won’t be of much use. For example:

  • Deleting a field does not affect the associated schema attribute: if you delete signInEmailAddress from a flow, the email attribute (and all the data it contains) remains exactly as-is.
     
  • When you delete a field, you’ll see a message similar to this:

    To revert this change later, you can restore the flow to the current version: 20200211154804747893.

    That’s true: you can use Registration Builder to restore previous versions of a flow. Just remember that, when you restore a flow, you replace all the properties of the current flow with the properties of the old flow. You’ll get signInEmailAddress back, but you’ll also lose any changes that were made after you deleted signInEmailAddress.