Creating Looks (and Working with Explores)

Looks are an integral part of Customer Insights: not only are Looks useful in their own right but Looks also serve as a key building block for Dashboards.

With that in mind, you might be thinking, “Wow, I better find the Create New Look button and start building some Looks.” But here’s a tip before you do that: there is no Create New Look button in Customer Insights (nor is there any sort of Create New Look menu option). In fact, there’s no way to “create” a Look: instead, you start with an Explore, and then save that Explore as a Look. That might sound a little complicated but, as you’re about to see, it’s actually pretty easy.

And no, you can’t “save” an Explore as an Explore. Explores are (depending on how you want to look at it) read-only. (Why? Well, for one thing, that way you’ll always know exactly what you're getting each time you open an Explore.) Just remember this formula: you start with an Explore, and then save that Explore as a Look. That might not be everything you need to know, but it’s a good start.

Note, too that, after a Look has been created, you edit the Look itself: you don’t make changes to an Explore. However, the editing pane for a Look is pretty much indistinguishable from the editing pane used by an Explore:

Because of those similarities, this documentation will primarily talk about working with Explores; however, pretty much everything we talk about is also true when it comes to editing Looks. The main difference? After editing a Look, you have to click Save to save those changes or Cancel to discard your changes:

Note. You also won’t find any Save As options: when you edit a Look, the only thing you can do is update that particular Look.

Explores don’t have a Save button. To save any work you’ve done in an Explore, you have to click the Options icon and choose either Save as Look or Save to Dashboard:

This section of the documentation includes the following topics: